The 2013 Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame dinner will be held on October 5, 2013 at CanadInns Polo Park. Reception at 5 p.m., Oct. 5, with dinner at 6 p.m.Tickets for the 2013 induction banquet cost $120 per person with tables for 10 available for $1100. A charitable tax receipt is included as part of the ticket.

Tickets can be ordered from the Hall of Fame office, 43 Dickens Dr., Winnipeg R3K 0M1, or from President Gary Cribbs, email:, phone: 204-837-4159.



For release 12 noon, April 15, 2013

Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame Announces 2013 Inductees

The Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame will induct six players, seven builders and one official in the Fall of 2013. Three teams also will be honoured. The class of 2013 was announced April 15 at a media conference held at the Canad Inns Polo Park in Winnipeg.

Mike Ford, who was a member of two World Hockey Association Avco Cup winning Winnipeg Jets teams, and Western Manitoba's Bill Mikkelson, who played in the NHL for three teams, are the defensemen being honoured. Both had played junior with the Brandon Wheat Kings and Winnipeg Jets. Four forwards were selected for induction. Gerry James, who got his start at Sir John Franklin Community Club in Winnipeg's River Heights area, won a Memorial Cup with the Toronto Marlboros and played for the Toronto Maple Leafs during the same period he was a star running back for the Winnipeg Blue Bombers. Vaughn Karpan from The Pas played junior in Brandon, at the University of Manitoba and then spent several seasons with Canada's National Team that included playing in the 1984 and 1988 Winter Olympic Games. In 1985 while with  University of Minnesota-Duluth, Bill Watson from Pine Falls won the Hobey Baker Memorial Award as the top collegiate player in the USA. He later played in the NHL with the Chicago Blackhawks. The fourth forward, Ed Hoekstra, will be inducted posthumously. Born in Winnipeg, he was a top scorer for the Weston midgets before moving East to play in St. Catherines. His professional career ran from 1958-59 through 1973-74 and included time in the NHL with the Philadelphia Flyers and in the WHA with the Houston Aeros. He died in St, Catherines on Nov. 10, 2011 at age 74.      

Two builders, Wayne Chernecki and Wayne Fleming, also will be inducted posthumously at the induction dinner on Oct. 5. Chernecki, 63, died in Winnipeg on Feb. 11 and Fleming, 62, in Calgary on March 25. The Hall of Fame independent selection committee had made its choices for 2013 in January so Hall of Fame vice-president Don Kuryk, who chairs the committee, was able to participate in private ceremonies honouring them before their deaths. A product of Winnipeg's North End, Chernecki was an outstanding player and leader from playground through junior hockey in Winnipeg. After a brief pro career, he turned to coaching where he had success at the bantam, midget and junior levels. Born in Snow Lake, Fleming's coaching resume included stints at the U of M, Europe, the NHL and as an associate coach with Canada's gold medal winning team at the 2002 Olympics. 

Former Manitoba Amateur Hockey Association and Winnipeg Minor Hockey president Don MacKenzie; Tom Miller, president of the St. James Canucks of the Manitoba Major Junior Hockey League for 35 years; Bruce Southern from Winnipeg's Riverview area, who coached junior in the three Prairie provinces and scouted for four NHL teams; and Al Tresoor, whose 29 years behind the bench began in Elmwood and included provincial championships at the juvenile and junior level, also will be recognized as builders. Official Ian Heather, who has been a leader in the development of officials for Hockey Manitoba and Hockey Canada, also will enter the Hall in the builder category. Bob Thompson from Oak Lake, who began his officiating career of more than 25 years in Brandon in 1970 and attained  a Level 6 credential that allowed him to work as high as international hockey, will be inducted as an official.  

In the team category, the Ile des Chenes North Stars, winners of the Allan Cup emblematic of the Canadian senior hockey championship in 2003, will become that latest team to take its rightful place on the Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame Wall of Champions in the MTS Centre. This exhibit honours Olympic, international, national and professional league championship teams from our province. The 1951 Winnipeg Monarchs and the 1972-73 St. Malo Warriors will have their names added to the Hall of Fame team honour list where a team is recognized either for a single-season accomplishment or for success over a specific period of time. Monarchs will be honoured for winning the Abbott Cup emblematic of the Western Canada junior championship while the Warriors had an undefeated season in winning the intermediate Hanover Tache Hockey League championship.  

Tickets for the 2013 induction banquet cost $120 per person and tables for 10 are available for $1100. A charitable tax receipt is included as part of the ticket. Reception at 5 p.m., Oct. 5, with dinner at 6 p.m. Tickets can be ordered from the Hall of Fame office, 43 Dickens Dr., Winnipeg R3K 0M1, through the website: or from President Gary Cribbs, email:, phone: 204-837-4159.

                                                                    - # -

The Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame is an incorporated, non-profit organization dedicated to Manitoba's hockey heritage, past, present and future. Our Hall of Fame exhibit that includes plaques with photos of our honoured members along with the Wall of Champions is located in the MTS Centre in downtown Winnipeg.

For information contact selection committee chair Don Kuryk at cell: 204-803-3144, email: or Gary Cribbs at phone: 204-837-4159, email:




-          During the month of November, 2012 a projection display was featured on the second floor mezzanine of the MTS Centre. Images of Manitoba players who served in world conflicts was displayed, mixed with images of Canadian military activity.


      Developed in partnership with True North Sports & Entertainment, the Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame display honours the sacrifices and services of Manitoba hockey players during conflicts overseas. The display involves digital projection technology featuring a rotating gallery of images.